Indian National Congress Sessions

Share the article

Indian National Congress Sessions : Given below is the list of Indian National Congress Sessions in chronological order. Apart from the locations of various sessions, make sure you also note important facts pertaining to them.

Indian National Congress Sessions from 1885 to 1948

Year LocationImportant facts
18851Bombay1st session of INC
President- W.C. Bonnerjee
Lord Dufferin was the Viceroy of British India
18862CalcuttaPresident- Dadabhai Naoroji
18873MadrasPresident- Badruddin Tyabji (1st Muslim president of INC)
18884AllahabadPresident- George Yule (1st English president of INC)
18895BombayPresident- Sir William Wedderburn
18906CalcuttaPresident- Pherozeshah Mehta
18917NagpurPresident- P. Ananda Charlu
18928AllahabadPresident- Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee
18939LahorePresident- Dadabhai Naoroji
189410MadrasPresident- Alfred Webb
189511PoonaPresident- Surendranath Banerjee
189612CalcuttaPresident- Rahimtullah M. Sayani
189713AmraotiPresident- C. Sankaran Nair
189814MadrasPresident- Ananda Mohan Bose
189915LucknowPresident- Romesh Chunder Dutt
190016LahorePresident- N.G. Chandavarkar
190117CalcuttaPresident- Dinshaw E. Wacha
190218AhmedabadPresident- Surendranath Banerjee
190319MadrasPresident- Lal Mohan Ghosh
190420BombayPresident- Sir Henry Cotton
190521BenaresPresident- Gopal Krishna Gokhale
190622CalcuttaPresident- Dadabhai Naoroji
190723SuratCongress splits into extremists and moderates
Rash Bihari Ghosh was the President
190824Madras23rd Session continued
Rash Bihari Ghosh was the  President
190925LahorePresident- Madan Mohan Malaviya
191026AllahabadPresident- Sir William Wedderburn
191127KolkataJana Gana mana was sung for the first time
Bishan Narayan Dar was the President
191628LucknowJoint session with Muslim league- Lucknow pact
President- Ambica Charan Mazumdar
191729CalcuttaPresident- Annie Besant (1st women president of INC)
191830Bombay and DelhiTwo sessions
1st President- Syed Hasan Imam
2nd President- Madan Mohan Malaviya
1919 AmritsarPresident- Motilal Nehru
1920 NagpurPresident- C. Vijayaraghavachariar
1921 AhmedabadHakim Ajmal Khan (Acting President for C.R. Das)
1922 GayaPresident- C.R. Das
1924 BelgaumMahatma Gandhi was the president of INC
1925 Kanpur1st Indian women president of INC- Sarojini Naidu.
1926 GauhatiPresident- S. Srinivasa Iyengar
1927 MadrasPresident- M.A. Ansari
1928 CalcuttaPresident- Motilal Nehru
1929 LahoreResolution for Poorna Swaraj or complete independence
President- Jawaharlal Nehru.
1931 KarachiPresident- Vallabbhai J. Patel
1932 DelhiPresident- Ranchod Lal Amrit Lal
1933 CalcuttaPresident- Nellie Sen Gupta
1934 BombayPresident- Rajendra Prasad
1936 LucknowPresident- Jawaharlal Nehru
1937 FaizpurPresident- Jawaharlal Nehru
1938 HaripuraPresident- Subhash Chandra Bose
1939 TripuriPresident- Subhash Chandra Bose
1940 RamgarhPresident- Abul Kalam Azad
1946 MeerutLast session before the Independence of India
President- Acharya J B Kripalini
1948 Jaipur1st session after the Independence of India
President was Dr. Pattabhi Sitaramayya
Indian National Congress Sessions

You can also read many things about CGPSC prelims CGPSC mains and interview you can also so get information about other exams of Chhattisgarh PSC and Vyapam in CGPSC Guruji.

Also read these articles about CGPSC Exam at CGPSC GURUJI for English for Hindi
CGPSC Prelims Examination SchemeClick HereClick Here
CG PSC Post List and Salary Details Click HereClick Here
Chhattisgarh Prelims Syllabus Click Here Click Here
CGPSC Prelims Question Paper Click Here Click Here
CGPSC Prelims Preparation Tips Click Here Click Here
CGPSC Mains Examination Scheme Click Here Click Here
Chhattisgarh Mains Syllabus Pdf Click Here Click Here
CGPSC Mains Question Paper pdf Click Here Click Here
Chhattisgarh State Service Mains Exam Preparation Tips Click Here Click Here
Frequently Asked questions about CGPSC ExamClick Here
Read about CGPSC Post List and Salary Click Here Click Here
Articles about CGPSC Exam at CGPSC GURUJI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You cannot copy content of this page